USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Discuss sources/headphone amplifiers here... mm saucy amps.
Post Reply
User avatar
MDN
Lurker
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:56 pm

USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Post by MDN » Sat Nov 03, 2012 6:51 pm

Currently I use a Creative X-fi Extreme soundcard to power my headphones and I hate it. The software for it is extremely clunky and it's on the fritz anyway.

So I'm looking at some USB DACs around the $300 mark, any suggestions?

One thing to note is that I'll be upgrading soon to the Audio Technica ATH W1000X, so this new DAC would have to power that too.

Should probably note that at the moment I'm looking at the Audioengine D1 Premium 24-Bit DAC and HiFiMAN EF2A which are well in my price range

User avatar
Marcus
I Recommend It!
Posts: 15824
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Post by Marcus » Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:23 am

The iBasso D12 is seriously wroth considering :)
Headphonic
http://www.headphones.com.au
Ph: (08) 9207 3666
Don't forget to Like us on Facebook!

User avatar
MDN
Lurker
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:56 pm

Re: USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Post by MDN » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:51 am

Thanks Marcus, I'll add that to the list of things to research for 3,000 hours!

User avatar
mallethead
Enthusiast
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:08 am
Location: Perth

Re: USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Post by mallethead » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:17 pm

I have the EF2A and the AD900's ( I use a DacMagic with them) so can give you a relevant opinion
The HIFIMAN EF2 DAC will eventually be the bottleneck when you get the W1000X. It's a good cheap amp dac that works of up to a point ( I only use it as an office amp/dac) - way short of what you'd use for the W1000's IMO. It shows it limits with the AD900's.
It's a better amp than DAC. Power won't be a problem with the AT's but it'll run out of puff if you ever get anything with higher impedance.
The little bit of extra brightness with standard tubes is out of place with the AD900's but might be less so with the closed W1000's ( I have not heard them)

You do have the option later of bunging on a better DAC later ( for a few hundred) to match the W1000's. I've tried it with the DacMagic and it sounds very nice.

User avatar
MDN
Lurker
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:56 pm

Re: USB DAC For Audio Technica ATH AD900s

Post by MDN » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:06 pm

Thanks mallethead! Appreciate the input.

Post Reply