Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Discuss sources/headphone amplifiers here... mm saucy amps.
CosmicJam
Regular
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:11 pm

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CosmicJam » Thu Jul 10, 2014 11:58 am

I would really like to hear the reply you get because I have actually been getting the clicking sounds too quite irregularly on my QDAC on my laptop. I would almost describe them as tiny pops or crackles. Unplugging the usb and reconnecting always fixes it. I get it with foobar but I'm not using WASAPI.

User avatar
Marcus
I Recommend It!
Posts: 15800
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by Marcus » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:51 pm

I've heard from a few people lately having issues with some USB outputs with various DACs and USB sound cards etc.
Sometimes front vs rear connections other times laptop vs desktop.

I've run my MDAC from 5 different computers and our shop QDAC off 3 different computers with no issues so far, so I can't be much help I'm afraid :(
Headphonic
http://www.headphones.com.au
Ph: (08) 9207 3666
Don't forget to Like us on Facebook!

CosmicJam
Regular
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:11 pm

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CosmicJam » Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:54 pm

That's cool, the problem is so minor that I didn't actually even think it was a defect. Maybe only 3 or 4 instances over the 6 months I've had it. I was just interested to hear the reply from Audiolab.

User avatar
CRUZMISL
Enthusiast
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Karratha

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CRUZMISL » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:35 am

CosmicJam wrote:I would really like to hear the reply you get because I have actually been getting the clicking sounds too quite irregularly on my QDAC on my laptop. I would almost describe them as tiny pops or crackles. Unplugging the usb and reconnecting always fixes it.
Yeah that sounds similar to my issue.

Next time it happens just hit the source button a few times to cycle through all the inputs and back to USB, easier than playing with cables.

I've not had a reply from Audiolab.
TH-X00, HE-400 } audiolab Q-DAC
ATH-AD900 } Yamaha RX-V467
RE-400, GRO6, KSC75 } iPod, Note 3

User avatar
CRUZMISL
Enthusiast
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Karratha

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CRUZMISL » Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:19 pm

I've had a reply from Audiolab (they delegated it to AVR in Sydney) but they didn't help.

Tried some different USB cables (had a bunch at work) and the one i'm using now is better but the problem is still present, just happens less frequently.

All the cables i've used so far would have come with printers. Though the old one worked without issue on my old PC.

Just placed an order for a fancy Audioquest one you sell here, see how that goes.
TH-X00, HE-400 } audiolab Q-DAC
ATH-AD900 } Yamaha RX-V467
RE-400, GRO6, KSC75 } iPod, Note 3

bleeding
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by bleeding » Fri Aug 01, 2014 1:09 pm

I've that issue with other DACs before, maybe the best option is to use optical or coaxial rather than USB?

User avatar
Marcus
I Recommend It!
Posts: 15800
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by Marcus » Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:58 pm

bleeding wrote:I've that issue with other DACs before, maybe the best option is to use optical or coaxial rather than USB?
Yeah this is what I'm thinking.
We've got a cheap Matrix USB-SPDIF but I can also to the M2Tech ones.
Headphonic
http://www.headphones.com.au
Ph: (08) 9207 3666
Don't forget to Like us on Facebook!

User avatar
CRUZMISL
Enthusiast
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Karratha

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CRUZMISL » Sat Oct 18, 2014 1:28 am

It''s been about 2 months now with the Audioquest cable and it seems a lot better.

I've had the same problem though it very rarely occurs now.
TH-X00, HE-400 } audiolab Q-DAC
ATH-AD900 } Yamaha RX-V467
RE-400, GRO6, KSC75 } iPod, Note 3

User avatar
CRUZMISL
Enthusiast
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Karratha

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CRUZMISL » Thu Jun 25, 2015 1:30 pm

Has anyone with a QDAC (or MDAC) tried it with Windows 10 ?

Want to make sure the drivers support it before going with the free upgrade.
TH-X00, HE-400 } audiolab Q-DAC
ATH-AD900 } Yamaha RX-V467
RE-400, GRO6, KSC75 } iPod, Note 3

User avatar
CRUZMISL
Enthusiast
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Karratha

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the Q

Post by CRUZMISL » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:40 pm

OK, so went ahead and tested my QDAC on Windows 10 and it does not work.

Drivers cannot be installed.

Tried using compatibility settings (Win8 and Win7) and that also did not work.

Running the setup program fails when it gets to installing the drivers. Also trying to manually add the drivers in Device Manager fails.

Hopefully Audiolab are working on updated drivers. Is Headphonic able to confirm this with your supplier?

Windows 10 is released in 4 weeks and is likely going to be a great benefit for gaming with the fantastic (rumoured) features of DirectX 12.
TH-X00, HE-400 } audiolab Q-DAC
ATH-AD900 } Yamaha RX-V467
RE-400, GRO6, KSC75 } iPod, Note 3

User avatar
jpw007
Enthusiast
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Sydney!

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Post by jpw007 » Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:37 pm

Just wondering when you plan on getting them back in stock?

User avatar
Marcus
I Recommend It!
Posts: 15800
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Post by Marcus » Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:26 am

Unfortunately it seems the QDAC is gone, however the MDAC has had a bit of a price drop.
I'm not sure if there's a new model in the works, but I'll see if I can find a good alternative :)
Headphonic
http://www.headphones.com.au
Ph: (08) 9207 3666
Don't forget to Like us on Facebook!

User avatar
jpw007
Enthusiast
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Sydney!

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Post by jpw007 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:46 pm

I wonder if it'll be a QDAC+? They did that with the MDAC too haven't they?

I've had my heart set on it for a while now, and managed to find one local for very cheap which I've jumped on - Now it makes a bit more sense why it was cheap, but hey I got my QDAC!

Eyeing off the Custom One Pro's however...

User avatar
Marcus
I Recommend It!
Posts: 15800
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Post by Marcus » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:58 pm

The MDAC+ is a higher end model, not a replacement for the MDAC, so technically the MDAC is already the QDAC+ :)
Headphonic
http://www.headphones.com.au
Ph: (08) 9207 3666
Don't forget to Like us on Facebook!

User avatar
jpw007
Enthusiast
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:36 am
Location: Sydney!

Re: Want an MDAC but flinch at the price? Introducing the QDAC!

Post by jpw007 » Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:55 am

Oh didn't realise that. Had only heard mention of it so assumed it was like a 'new' replacement.

The Q-DAC I managed to secure arrive yesterday, and I had about 30 minutes with it including some music and game (Overwatch, so probably not the best mixed game i assume, but it's fun and sounded good to me).

First thing was the unit looks great. Really love the black look. Sounded great but would definitely need to listen to it more. The AD900's sounded fantastic as usual with it. I really like their punchy little bass though I do find myself wanting something closed and with a bit more at times (eying off the Custom One Pros).

I ran it over coaxil from the STX since I didn't realise it doesn't come with a USB cable, so that's something i'll need to look into and buy. Ideally I just want to be rid of the STX...

Absolutely LOVE the range of volume control on it. That was always a major gripe I had with the STX but the levels of adjustment this has is fantastic. Really really impressed. I plan to match this with a pair of Audioengine A5+'s once I have some more cash.

We're moving this week to our forever home and once in i'll be able to have a nice big desk area for my PC and i'm building a cheap one for the kids too. Will have plenty of room for all my stuff inc the DAC and speakers etc when I get them so super excited. Finally going to have my own little area that will actually feel usable and not cramped like in the current place on my undersized k-mart desk! Thinking of putting the PS4 behind and hooking it up to the monitor and then opital out to the qdac for some other gaming. Alternatively it doesnt look like it'd be hard to just move the qdac over to the TV cabinet as/when needed.

Can't wait to give it more of a listen.

Post Reply